Main Content

Group photo of Noyce MTFs at the Science in the south conference
Photo of Renee helping students with microscopes
MTFs presenting at Science in the South
MTFs and students presenting at Science in the South

Logo that reads, "SIU Carbondale. Southern Illinois University River Region Sustainability."SIU River Region Sustainability: A Noyce Master Teaching Fellows Program, 2019-2023

Within the confluence of the mighty Mississippi, Ohio and Wabash rivers lies one of the most biologically and geographically rich area of the United States. It is also one of the most impoverished and underserved regions in our country.

With support from the Robert Noyce Program at the National Science Foundation, Southern Illinois University Carbondale will implement a creative new program in 2019 that is designed to serve our high-need schools and revitalize STEM education in Southern Illinois. Focusing on environmental sustainability, The River Region Master Teaching Fellows Program will provide the education, mentoring, and resources for a select group of junior high and high school STEM teachers (Master Teaching Fellows) to become leaders in their schools and communities.  

The program spans five years and includes coursework, research experiences, and professional communication and leadership development. Through experiential learning led by scientists and STEM professionals at SIUC and beyond, Master Teaching Fellows will explore sustainability topics that include toxicology, biodiversity, climate change, and energy. Participants complete the program with enhanced teaching and leadership skills, a comprehensive understanding of regional sustainability concerns, and a Certificate in Sustainability earned from the SIU Graduate School.

The River Region Master Teaching Fellows Program is administered through the College of Science at SIUC, and is a partnership with regional school districts and the Carbondale Science Center. The program is led by research faculty and staff from the Colleges of Science, Liberal Arts, and Education and Human Services.